Scientific Prizes

Scientific Prizes of Nobel 2015

S.Serajian*

In this paper, the Nobel prizes of 2015 in four scientific fields of Physics, Chemistry, Medicine and Economics have been studied. The Nobel Prize laureates' introduction includes a short biography and summary of the related scientific backgrounds that led to receiving the Nobel Prize. The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to two scientists Arthur B. McDonald and Takaaki Kajita for their researches on neutrino particles oscillations. The 2015 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded jointly to Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar for studies of DNA repair. The 2015 Nobel Prize in Economics was awarded to Angus Deaton for his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare. The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded with one half jointly to William C. Campbell and Satoshi Omura for their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites and the other half to Youyou Tu for her discoveries concerning a novel therapy against Malaria. At the end of this paper, the history of scientific prizes of Nobel

Keywords: Science, Science frontiers, Nobel Prize, Top scientists, Nobel 2015, Muslim Nobel laureates.

* Corresponding Author, Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Tehran, Tehran, Iran Tel:+98-9353335150, Email: s.serajian@ut.ac.ir